Congratulations to Trial Advocacy Competition Winners and New Board Members

The Charleston School of Law’s Trial Advocacy Board hosted its annual internal competition October 26th and 27th, with 50 competitors and over 100 student volunteer witnesses and timekeepers participating.  Many thanks to all who helped make the competition a success and congratulations to the following team and individual award winners!

Winning team: Maggie Beall and Zaine Hedge

Runners-up: Catie Dunn and Ryan Schwartz

Founders’ Award for Professionalism in Advocacy: Catie Dunn

Akim Anastopoulo Best Advocate Award: Maggie Beall

Best Opening: Zaine Hedge

Best Closing: Jerrod Frazior

Best Direct Examination: Lane Jefferies

Best Cross-Examination: Ryan Schwartz

The following students were invited to join the Trial Advocacy Board and will represent the law school at national trial competitions over the next year.  Congratulations to all!

Maggie Beall      Derek Bush      Craig Conover      Rob Crabtree      Catie Dunn

Jerrod Frazier     Zaine Hedge     Lane Jefferies     Andrew McCumber     Devon Puriefoy

Ryan Schwartz     Kayce Seifert     Corey Shipley     Jescelyn Tillman     Whitney Wilder

Finalists pictured with Presiding Judge Billy Wilkins and current Trial Advocacy Executive Board.

About Nathan Schmaltz

Nathan is the Acquisitions & Serials Librarian at the Charleston School of Law, Sol Blatt Jr. Law Library.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s