How Not to Behave in Court

hownottobehave  A Florida judge and a Florida lawyer had what many are describing as a courtroom brawl on Monday, June 2nd, at the Brevard County courthouse.  At a criminal roll call, Judge John Murphy asked public defender Andrew Weinstock to waive his client’s rights to a speedy trial.  Weinstock refused.

Cameras captured the exchange between the two:

“If I had a rock, I would throw it at you right now,” Murphy said. “Stop pissing me off. Just sit down. I’ll take care of it. I don’t need your help. Sit down.”

“I’m the public defender, I have the right to be here and I have a right to stand and represent my clients,” Weinstock said.

“Sit down,” Murphy said. “If you want to fight, let’s go out back and I’ll just beat your (expletive).”

“Let’s go right now,” Weinstock said.

The two men disappeared from the range of the camera, and it is alleged that Murphy began to hit Weinstock until courtroom deputies intervened and broke up the fight.  Both the Florida Bar and the Brevard County Sheriff’s Office are investigating.

Perhaps Gerald Riskin’s The Successful Lawyer and Mike Adams’ Dealing with Difficult People should be required reading for the attorney and the judge?

Hat Tip:  ABA Journal

 

About Lisa Smith-Butler

Lisa is the Associate Dean for Information Services at the Charleston School of Law, Sol Blatt Jr. Law Library. She teaches Advanced Legal Research & Children & the Law.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

